Make your own free website on Tripod.com
Meadow Creek Community Cemetery
Reverend D. G. Richmond
Home
Birth,Death,Marriage Records
Burial Records A - M
Burial Records N - Z
Photo Gallery
Veterans
Weather

dgrichmond.jpg

dgrichmond2.jpg

Rev. Dave Richmond and wife Molly Susan Peters Richmond at their home place on the Hump Mountain about two miles above Meadow Creek.  Called to pastor the Meadow Creek Baptist Church on June 25, 1905. ( See story below about the church and it's early history)
 
Dave ran for city councilman for the town of Meadow Creek in the Feburary 25, 1922 municipal election.  (See election ballot)

davidmollierichmond.jpg

Richmond, David G. Rev.
Born - 1864
Died - 1939
 
Richmond, Molly Peters
Born - 1860
Died - 1947

History of the Meadow Creek Baptist Church
 
     A delegation from the Mill Creek, New Salem and Lick Creek Churches met at Meadow Creek, West Virginia, October 21, 1878 to consider the propriety of organizing a Baptist Church at Meadow Creek.  After a sermon by Elder John Bragg and due consideration, it was agreed to proceed.  Articles of faith and the church Covenant were read and adopted.  The church was organized with 15 members.  Elder Lewis C. Kincaid was called to the pastorate for an indefinite time at a salary of $15 per year. 
 
     June 25, 1905, Reverend D. G. Richmond , who lived on the Hump Mountain two miles above Meadow Creek with his wife Molly Susan Peters Richmond and three children he was rearing (Icy, Elmer and Zona Creger) was called to pastor for sevral years. During This time the Meadow Creek Baptist Church building (pictured below) was built.  The first Sunday of November, 1909, the church building was dedicated with Rev. L. P. Groves of Beckley, West Virginia preaching the sermon (Text: 1 Timothy 3:16), the pastor making the prayer.  This was a great day in the history of the church, a fine day, a large audience and a good sermon.  The church was a member of the Raleigh Baptist Association, Reverend D. G. Richmond, president.
 
     During the 1930's, the women's Missionary Society of the church had the Sunday School rooms added on the back of the church building. (This article was written by Rev. D.G. Richmond)
 
 

church.jpg

Photo taken around 1908

Home      A to M      N to Z       Copyright 2004